The BrickHouse Brewery building, at the corner of Havens Avenue and Main Street, is the oldest commercial building in Patchogue. It was built around 1850 as a dry goods store, and was operated by John S. Havens until 1914, when James G. Shand purchased it.
The family operated a hardware store here until around 1990. The sign you see was revealed after we removed several layers of paint from the building, during a renovation.
We kept the sign in place after an informal poll of village residents showed an overwhelming desire to do so. The building has quite a colorful history. Its foundation is built from ship ballast, which was plentiful at that time in this shipbuilding community on Great South Bay. During the Civil War, the building was a stop on the underground railroad, and escaped slaves were hidden in the basement. Many old-time Patchogue residents remember Shand’s as the kind of store that had everything. Today, the BrickHouse Brewery is known as a must-visit for fine food and great beer.
|Pours House Beer||Yes|
|Sells beer to go||Yes|